07 Jan What are the Penalties for an Aggravated DUI in Arizona?
If you find yourself in trouble for an aggravated DUI in Arizona, we’re here for you! The penalties for an aggravated DUI in Arizona are particularly brutal. However, you do have rights as someone who is in this kind of situation. We at Saienni Law, P.C. have the experience and record to help you after you’re charged with any DUI.
What Qualifies as an Aggravated DUI in Arizona?
A DUI (driving under the influence) is a class 1 misdemeanor in Arizona, meaning it’s fairly serious. In fact, being found guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor can result in six months of jail time. In addition, you will have to pay a $2,500 fine.
An aggravated DUI goes a step further. If you drive under the influence with a suspended license or a young child in the car and are pulled over for suspected drinking and driving, you can be charged with an aggravated DUI. But since the term “aggravated DUI” refers to DUI in tandem with another crime, many combinations are possible. Third or more DUI’s in 84 months, DUI on Suspended or Restricted Licenses, DUI wrong way on One Way Street or Freeway, DUI without required IID (Ignition Interlock Device) installed. DUI with a child under 15 in a car.
Penalties for an Aggravated DUI in Arizona
An aggravated DUI moves beyond the misdemeanor classification and jumps right to a felony charge. This means that the penalties are much more severe and include prison time. You’ll need an efficient, professional attorney to help you in this situation. Here are a few examples of penalties:
- Significant incarceration. In Arizona, aggravated DUIs are usually associated with prison time.
- Possible further convictions. If another person, such as your child, was in the car with you, you may be charged with reckless endangerment. In addition, if you hit someone, you may be charged with manslaughter or even homicide. All of these are class 6 felonies and could land you decades of incarceration.
- Loss of your license. A serious offense like this could cost you your license permanently.
- Seizure of your car. You would also be at risk for losing your vehicle.
- Large fines. Far greater than a misdemeanor.
How Can Saienni Law Help You?
A good attorney can protect you from these charges. We understand that accidents happen and nobody was meant to get hurt, and we know how to prove that. Especially if this was your first offense, we can replace these charges with:
- Community service.
- Probation of up to 10 years.
- Suspension of your license.
- Counseling—you may have to take an educational class to encourage your sobriety.
- Less significant fines or reduced impact on your insurance.
Defense Attorney in Phoenix, Scottsdale, And All of Maricopa County
At Saienni Law, PC, we’re on your side. Our highly competent team will walk you through the process and defend your every right. If you or a loved one is faced with an aggravated DUI charge in Arizona, schedule a free consultation today.